Upcoming Events

19-02-2019 6:00 pm
Category:  Johannesburg
Notice: SAIRAC JHB technical talk 21 Feb 2019
21-02-2019 6:00 pm
Category:  Johannesburg
Bryanston Sports Club
SAIRAC Golf Day – a course to remember

SAIRAC Golf Day – a course to remember

The South African Institute of Refrigeration and Air Conditioning (SAIRAC)’s Johannesburg centre once again had a full field with 36 four balls taking on the Modderfontein course. The weather held up nicely and it was a beautiful, albeit hot, day all around.

The day was a huge success according to the local SAIRAC committee and the guys (and girls) had a lot of fun on the beautifully green course.

The theme of the day was St Patricks (only one day early) and the course was more ‘green’ than usual thanks to those who got dressed up. The two drinking holes (TecsaReco and ACRA) went all out with decorations and lifting the spirits of weary players on the hot course. The Recam hole even had a mini leprechaun to add to the good luck.

A lot of work went into pulling it all together and the experienced team of Mariet Pieterse and Darren Black oversaw the event making the golf day happen from the Johannesburg committee’s side.

As usual, the exciting day on the course was followed by an evening award ceremony and dinner.

Thank you to the sponsors 
The Johannesburg SAIRAC committee would like to extend a special thank you to its sponsors who made the day possible.

“Only through your continued support and generosity are we able to host a golf day of such a high standard and bounty of prices,” says Jaco Pieterse, SAIRAC Johannesburg centre chairman. “So, a big thank you goes out to our sponsors.”

The following sponsors got involved:

  • ACRA (drinking hole)
  • Baltimore Aircoil
  • Daikin
  • Eurocool
  • Metraclark
  • Fourways Airconditioning
  • Gree
  • TecsaReco (drinking hole)
  • Samsung
  • HC Heat Exchangers
  • Jaguar Landrover Sandton
  • Concept Clean Africa
  • Seeley International
  • Veldon Family
  • Zest Weg Group

View gallery here

And the winners are

Winner: The winning four-ball for the day walked away with the Baltimore Air Coil (BAC) floating trophy sponsored in 1988 with prizes sponsored by BAC and Samsung worth about R20 000. The winning team, for the second time in a row, was the TecsaReco team of Gareth Smith, Danie le Roux, Rudi Thornhill and Chris Jardim with a score of 65 points.

Winning team

Second place: With 50 points, the runner up team was Systemair Anton Esterhuizen, Jaco du Toit, Gavin Froneman and David Grundling. The prize was sponsored by Samsung and was handed out by Robert Larkan.

Second place

Third place: With 49 points, was Zest Weg, made up of Riaan Nel, Francois Liebenberg, Johan Swanepoel and Peter Taljaard. This prize was sponsored by Recam and SAIRAC. Stephan Fourie from Metraclark handed out the prize on their behalf.

Third place

Fourth place: With 48 points went to the Trox team of Andries Duvenhage, Gonnie Pandither, Scott van Zyl and Darren Mcmanus.

Fifth place: With 47 points went to the Concept Clean Africa team of Trevor Mackenzie, Russell Thomas, Alan van Rensburg and Richard Leonard.

Longest drive on the eight hole, was tied between Fred Nel and Andre van der Merwe with the prize sponsored by Zest Weg Group.

Longest drive on the tenth hole: Scott van Zyl, prize sponsored by Fourways Airconditioning.

Nearest to the pin on the third hole: Mike Hope-Jones, prize sponsored by Eurocool.

Nearest to the pin on the ninth hole: Philip Reynolds, prize sponsored by Fourways Airconditioning.

Nearest to the pin on the 11th hole: Rhyno Swanepoel, prize sponsored by SAIRAC.

Nearest to the pin on the 14th hole: Rob Jansen, prize sponsored by Daikin.

For the first time, ever, SAIRAC also had a ‘best sponsored hole’ category as chosen by the club with the floating trophy sponsored by the Veldon Family in memory of Michael Veldon. John Veldon presented the Michael Veldon Memorial Floating trophy. The best sponsored hole prize went to ACRA.

The best dressed four ball was selected by the club and prizes sponsored by Concept Clean Africa. The winners were the Zest Weg team of Riaan Nel, Francois Liebenberg, Joe Bester and Peter Taljaard.

The Best Individual SAIRAC player of the day was awarded to a SAIRAC member and calculated on a standard Stable ford score. The best player received the Metraclark floating trophy sponsored by Metraclark in 1988 and was awarded to Anton Esterhuizen for the third year running on 42 points.

View Gallery here

For a good course

SAIRAC presented a cheque to Stand with Stan (a registered public benefit and non-profit organisation that provides quality prosthetics for disadvantaged amputees) of R15 000, its beneficiary for the golf day this year. During the handover, two players (Fred Nel and Malcolm Ras) also stood up and donated R5 000 each in their personal capacity.

A big year in 2018
Next year will mark the centre’s 30th golf day and big plans are on the cards, so watch this space. Coming soon!


Pin It



To purchase or for further information
please contact Marlene Gamble
Email: nationalsecretary@sairac.co.za



Visit the SARACCA website:


Register on the relevant website to read your favourite HVAC&R publications online:


 Remember to register/log in

 CLA Nov 
Remember to register/log in